Asia Trophy: Manchester City, West Ham, Newcastle and Wolves to take part in pre-season tournament this summer

26 Mar

Manchester City, West Ham, Newcastle and Wolves have been confirmed to take part in the Premier League Asia Trophy this summer.

The competition, which is held every two years, features four teams from England’s top flight and debuted in 2003.

Liverpool won the most recent edition in 2017, beating Leicester City in the final in Hong Kong, while City claimed silverware on the most recent occasion they took part – 2013.

Liverpool beat Leicester 2-1 to win the most recent Asia Trophy

City will join Chelsea as the most successful team in Asia Trophy history should they win the tournament for the second time this summer.

Standing in Pep Guardiola’s side’s way will be West Ham, Newcastle and Wolves, who will be debuting in the competition.

Newcastle were runners-up to Chelsea in the first edition in 2003, while West Ham finished third, behind Tottenham and Hull, six years later.

Chelsea won the inaugural Asia Trophy in 2003, and claimed their second success eight years later

The four sides will play two matches at the tournament: a semi-final, and then either a final or third-place play-off.


There are six live commentaries across the talkSPORT network this week. Find out what they are and where to hear them, below...

  • Czech Republic vs Brazil (Tuesday) – talkSPORT 2
  • West Brom vs Birmingham (Friday) – talkSPORT 2
  • Brighton vs Southampton (Saturday) – talkSPORT 2
  • West Ham vs Everton (Saturday) – talkSPORT
  • Middlesbrough vs Norwich (Saturday) – talkSPORT 2
  • Portsmouth vs Sunderland (Sunday) – talkSPORT 2

This year’s Asia Trophy is being held in China, with the fixtures scheduled to take place in Nanjing and Shanghai.

The semi-finals will take place on July 17, with the final and third-place play-off three days later.