BT Sport to air WWE TV in UK from Janaury 2020 and end Sky Sports association

20 Jun

BT Sport will be the home of WWE in the UK from January 2020.

The move ends Sky Sports’ 30-year association with Vince McMahon’s empire.

Vince McMahon wil be pleased with the move

BT Sport will exclusively air WWE’s weekly Raw and SmackDown Live shows and monthly pay-per-views, including SummerSlam and WrestleMania.

It is another blow for Sky Sports who lost its Champions League rights to BT Sport in 2015.

And at the turn of the year, BT Sport viewers will get to see WWE stars Becky Lynch, Seth Rollins and Roman Reigns on their TV screens.

BT’s managing director of content and strategy, Andy Haworth said: “We are incredibly excited by our new partnership with WWE.

“It is the most successful sports entertainment brand in the world, with a rich, fun and colourful history, loved by fans across the UK and Ireland.

“This is a brilliant addition for our customers and we can’t wait to get going in January.”

Sky were allegedly frustrated with WWE for airing its pay-per-views on the WWE Network, its online subscription service.

With ITV partnering up with new wrestling promotion All Elite Wrestling, Sky will be left out in the cold.

BT Sport set to be new home for WWE TV in UK – reports

16 May

BT Sport is set to be the new home for WWE TV in the UK, according to reports.

Sky Sports have held the WWE TV rights in Britain for the past 30 years.

Vince McMahon is the key decision-maker for the WWE
Vince McMahon’s WWE will reportedly be moving over to BT Sports

However, The Telegraph report that is all about to change, with Raw and SmackDown Live heading to BT Sport.

Earlier this week, it was announced ITV would be partnering up with WWE’s rivals All Elite Wrestling (AEW) to air the Double or Nothing pay-per-view on May 25 to UK fans.

And with BT Sport reportedly agreeing terms with WWE, it leaves Sky Sports in the wrestling wilderness.

It is alleged that Sky were frustrated with WWE airing pay-per-views on the WWE Network, its online subscription service.

A monthly subscription costs £9.99, while Sky charge around £15 for pay-per-views.

Sky’s deal with Vince McMahon’s empire ends this year, and BT are expected to pick up the rights.

BT are yet to comment on the reports.

How can I watch all midweek Championship games this season?

17 Sep

It’s been called the most competitive league in world football.

The Championship is set to be as dramatic at the top and bottom as ever this season, with fixtures coming thick and fast.

There will be plenty of options to watch your team this season

How can I watch all midweek Championship games this season?

One of the big lures of the division is the amount of games, with a gruelling 46 to fit in over the course of the season.

With international breaks taking chunks out of the calendar, there are plenty of midweek games to look forward to.

And now you can watch ALL of these games on either Sky Sports or through the iFollow streaming service.

If you are a Sky subscriber, head to the live game being shown on Sky Sports Football on any given Tuesday or Wednesday.

Wolves won the Championship title last season

From there you can press the red button and choose to watch any of that evening’s action from across the Championship.

The iFollow service allows you to watch games through your browser and is also available for some League One and Two games too.

Head to your club’s website whenever there is a midweek fixture, where you will be given the option to watch the game for a one-off payment of £10.

Which clubs are not available through iFollow?

There are some teams who have opted out of the scheme.

This doesn’t mean that they can’t broadcast a stream through their own web players and it’s worth checking ahead of kick.

Game which are eligible must be outside the blocked hours of 14.45pm-17.15pm on Saturday afternoons and not broadcast live on Sky Sports.

The teams not to sign up to iFollow are Accrington Stanley, Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Bristol City, Charlton Athletic, Derby County, Hull City, Forest Green Rovers, Middlesbrough, Queens Park Rangers, Stoke City, Swansea City and Sunderland.

La Liga and Serie A games may be streamed for free on Facebook in UK in latest threat to Sky and BT dominance

3 Aug

Facebook may stream La Liga and Serie A matches free of charge in the UK as Sky and BT Sport continue to lose their grip on football rights in the UK.

Eleven Sports, owned by Leeds United chairman Andrea Radrizzani, won the rights to show the Spanish and Italian top flights earlier this year.

British fans could be able to watch league champions Barcelona and Juventus for free next season

According to the Times, the company want to show some games for free to British fans, following free screenings in other countries.

Subscriptions for Eleven Sports will cost £5.99 a month or £49.99 a year, with viewers able to watch the top divisions in the Netherlands, China and Sweden alongside Spain and Italy.

The biggest games, including El Clasico and the Milan derby, will remain subscription-only.

It is the latest blow to Sky and BT’s control of football in Britain, with the former losing its Spanish football rights in May after 20 years showing La Liga.

Eleven Sports are owned by Andrea Radrizzani, whose other enterprises include Leeds United

Eleven Sports reportedly bid less than the £18m per year Sky paid for their Spanish rights, while BT were outbid for Italian football, which they have shown since 2012.

Amazon are also on the scene, buying a 20-game package to show Premier League matches over the Christmas period, starting in 2019.

Sky will still show 126 Premier League games this year and 128 per season in the recently-agreed 2019-2022 deal.

BT have the rights to 42 games in 2018/19 and 52 annually in the three years following.

El Clasico will likely remain subscription-only
The Milan derby is also set to be behind a paywall

Eleven Sports will show the US PGA Championship for free as part of a seven-day trial offered to new customers at its launch.

The first two rounds will also be shown live for free on Facebook.

The company’s executive chairman Marc Watson said: “When fans subscribe to Eleven Sports through us they are getting pure sport, without any add-ons, bundles or contracts.

“We have built our business and our reputation in our global markets through our ‘For the Fans’ strategy that is underpinned by our accessibility and our engaging, localised approach that enables fans to get closer to the action.”

Reading vs Derby: Live commentary, start-time and confirmed teams for the Championship curtain-raiser

31 Jul

The summer fun is over and it’s time to get back to business.

Reading and Derby get the Championship 2018/19 rolling with a clash at the Madejski Stadium on Friday night, as Frank Lampard takes charge of his first league game.

Lampard has taken on his first managerial job

The Royals ended last season 20th after a disappointing follow-up to their play-off final loss in 2016, but are hopeful for a resurgence under former Rams manager Paul Clement.
Whilst following their appointment of Chelsea legend Lampard, Derby are targeting a Premier League return for the first time in eleven years.

What time is kick-off?

Opening the Championship campaign, this game is on Friday, August 3.

Kick-off is at 8pm.

Do talkSPORT have live commentary?

You’re in luck, with live coverage of the game on talkSPORT 2.

Tune in to the web player from 6pm for all the build-up.

talkSPORT 2 is also available in most of the United Kingdom via DAB digital radio.

What are the confirmed teams:

Derby XI: Carson, Wisdom, Bryson, Keogh, Wilson, Mount, Lawrence, Lowe, Nugent, Davies, Ledley

Reading XI: Mannone, Yiadom, Richards, McShane, Ilori, Meyler, Kelly, Swift, Aluko, Barrow, Böðvarsson

Listen to live coverage of Reading vs Derby on talkSPORT 2 from 6pm on Friday, August 3