When are the Cricket World Cup semi-finals? England and India in final four but who has joined them?

3 Jul

The Cricket World Cup is reaching the business end with the tournament’s semi-finals taking place this week.

The round robin group stage has seen the table chop and change throughout the last few weeks but the final four have now been confirmed.

England are in the Cricket World Cup semi-finals

England followed up their stunning victory over India with a fine win over New Zealand to book their place in the semi-finals.

So with the final coming up on Sunday 14 July, who could be in action at Lord’s?

Which teams are out of the Cricket World Cup?


Afghanistan were the first team to go home and have yet to win a match, although they did push India to within 12 runs.

West Indies

The Windies started brilliantly by crushing Pakistan in their opening match, but failed to replicate that form since and will be going home.

The West Indies are out of the World Cup

South Africa

The Proteas have disappointed hugely this summer and will not be progressing any further after a dreadful campaign which saw them become the second team to be eliminated.


As a result of their loss to India, Bangladesh have been knocked out of the Cricket World cup.

Sri Lanka

England’s win over India saw Sri Lanka dumped out of the tournament.

While they could draw level with Eoin Morgan’s side on points, England would still progress by virtue of winning more games.


Pakistan were the final team to be knocked out of the group stage. They had to beat Bangladesh by at least 308 runs in their last group and couldn’t pull off a miracle.

Which teams have qualified for the Cricket World Cup semi-finals?


Australia’s victory over England saw them become the first team to make the semi-finals.


India made it to the semi-final with victory over Bangladesh.


England’s 31 run victory over India and then their 119 run win over New Zealand booked their place in the semis.

New Zealand

The Kiwis claimed the last semi-final spot after Pakistan failed to beat Bangladesh by at least 308 runs in their final group game.

India look to be the team to beat at the World Cup

When are the Cricket World Cup semi-finals?

India vs New Zealand – Tuesday, July 9 – Old Trafford

Australia vs England – Thursday, July 11 – Edgbaston

The Cricket World Cup final – Sunday, July 14 – Lord’s

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed banned for four matches by International Cricket Council over racist comments

27 Jan

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed has hit with a four match suspension for breaching the International Cricket Council’s anti-racism code.

The world governing body announced Sarfraz had accepted the charge after aiming a comment at South Africa all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo during the second one-day international between the sides in Durban on Tuesday.

Sarfraz will miss the remaining two matches of the ODI series – with Shoaib Malik captaining the side in Sunday’s contest – as well as the first two matches of the Twenty20 series to follow.

Ahmed must also undergo an education course as part of his punishment

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: “The ICC has a zero-tolerance policy towards conduct of this nature.

“Sarfraz has promptly admitted the offence, was regretful of his actions and has issued a public apology, so these factors were taken into account when determining an appropriate sanction.”

Sarfraz’s comments had been picked up by the stump mic during the match, and the 31-year-old wicketkeeper then apologised to Phehlukwayo on Friday, writing on Twitter: “This morning I apologised to Andile Phehlukwayo and he was gracious enough to accept my apology and I hope the people of South Africa also accept my apology.”

The ICC added that Sarfraz will now undergo an education programme relating to the offence.