PFA League One Team of the Year: Sunderland, Portsmouth and Barnsley all represented in top XI voted for by players

24 Apr

The PFA League One team of the year has been announced with Barnsley dominating the list.

There were five representatives from the club in the XI voted for by their fellow players.

Goalkeeper Adam Davies, defenders Dimitri Cavare and Ethan Pinnock, midfielder Alex Mowatt and striker Kieffer Moore were all selected.

Barnsley’s Alex Mowatt was named in the team of the year

Leaders Luton, who are three points clear at the top with two games to go, have just two players in the team.

Striker James Collins, who has scored 24 times this season, and defender James Justin were their representatives.

James Collins has scored 24 times for Luton this season

The Hatters pulled clear at the top of the table following a 29-match unbeaten league run, which was finally brought to an end at Charlton on April 13, as Mick Harford’s side look to secure a return to the Championship.

Portsmouth, who can move into second if they win their game in hand, have two players in the team with defender Matt Clarke and 14-goal winger Jamal Lowe both selected.

Promotion-chasing Sunderland have Aiden McGeady in the XI while the line-up is completed by Doncaster striker John Marquis, who has 19 goals.

A notable absentee is Charlton striker Lyle Taylor who has 20 goals and nine assists this season.

The players will be honoured at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday April 28.

PFA League One Team of the Year 2019

Adam Davies (Barnsley); Dimitri Cavare (Barnsley), Ethan Pinnock (Barnsley), Matt Clarke (Portsmouth), James Justin (Luton); Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Alex Mowatt (Barnsley), Jamal Lowe (Portsmouth); James Collins (Luton), John Marquis (Doncaster), Kieffer Moore (Barnsley).