Which pots are Manchester United, Man City, Liverpool and Tottenham in for the Champions League group stage draw?

29 Aug

The 2018/19 UEFA Champions League group stage draw will take place on Thursday August 30 at 5pm UK time.

The gala is set to be staged at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and will be live on talkSPORT 2.

The 2019 Champions League final is scheduled for June 1 at Atletico Madrid’s Wanda Metropolitano Stadium

England’s top four clubs from the 2017/18 Premier League season will represent the country in the 2018/19 Champions League campaign.

Champions Manchester City lead the way, with Manchester United, Tottenham and Liverpool joining them.

But what pots are they all in for the draw, and who does this mean they will be able to face?

What pot at Manchester City in?

As the champions of England, Manchester City are automatically inserted into Pot One alongside the champions from the rest of Europe’s top eight leagues.

Manchester City: Pot One

What pot are Manchester United in?

After all the champions are assigned to pot one, the rest of the draw is sorted by each club’s UEFA coefficient ranking. This means that Manchester United enter Pot Two as their ranking of 82.000 puts them among the best in Europe.

Manchester United: Pot Two

What pot are Tottenham in?

Like Manchester United, Spurs are also in Pot Two. Their club coefficient ranking of 67.000 is just about high enough to sneak them into the pot.

Tottenham: Pot Two

What pot are Liverpool in?          

Liverpool’s pot will be decided by Wednesday night’s play-off game between Benfica and PAOK. The Reds are currently set to enter Pot Two as their club coefficient ranking is 62.000, however if Benfica win and qualify for the group stage, then they will push Liverpool down to Pot Three as the Portuguese club have a coefficient of 80.000.

PAOK achieved a 1-1 draw in the first leg of the tie in Lisbon last week, and host the second match in Thessaloniki with an away goal advantage in their favour.

Liverpool: Pot Two or Three

Full list of pots are as follows:

Pot One – Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Manchester City, Juventus, PSG, Lokomotiv Moscow

Pot Two – Borussia Dortmund, Porto, Manchester United, Shakhtar, Napoli, Tottenham, Roma

Pot Three – Schalke, Lyon, Monaco, Ajax, CSKA Moscow

Pot Four – Club Brugge, Galatasaray, Young Boys, Inter, Hoffenheim, AEK

To Be Decided – Liverpool (Pot Two or Three), Valencia (Pot Three or Four), Viktoria Plzen (Pot Three or Four)

Plus Three More Play-Off Winners – Red Star Belgrade or Red Bull Salzburg, Bate Borisov or PSV Eindhoven, Benfica or PAOK